HIMSS Chapter Leader of the Year Award


The Chapter Leader of the Year Award recognizes an individual who demonstrates significant leadership, extraordinary contributions to HIMSS Chapters and the Society, and a commitment to the health IT industry.

Established: 2004


The current Call for Applications for all HIMSS Awards is closed. Next year’s Call for Applications for all HIMSS Awards will open in August 2015. Please check back on the website then for more information.

Eligibility and Criteria

  • HIMSS membership, in good standing, for at least 3 consecutive years
  • Serves as a HIMSS Chapter Leader for at least one full year
  • Demonstrates innovative leadership and makes significant contributions to strengthen the Chapter
  • Represents the highest standards of leadership in information technology in healthcare
  • Is respected and recognized as a role model by his/her peers

The Nomination Process

Nominations may be received from the individual, Chapter Board, any member, staff or outside party

  • All application materials are reviewed by the Award Selection Committee
  • Staff forward the committee recommendation to the HIMSS Board of Directors for final review and approval
  • All nominee will be notified of the status of their applications

The Chapter Leader of the Year Award Consists of:

  • Symbol of Recognition
  • Public announcement in an official HIMSS Publication
  • Invitation to the Annual Awards Banquet at HIMSS15 with (1) complimentary ticket

2014 Winners

Kevin Conway

Kevin Conway - Nebraska Chapter

For more information, contact awards@himss.org.