HIMSS Chapter of the Year Awards

The call for applications is closed. Winners will be notified in December 2016. The call for applications will open again in July 2017.


The Chapter of the Year Award recognizes chapters who have connected in a meaningful way with HIMSS, health IT entities and initiatives in their geographic region.

Eligibility Requirements and Program Overview

To qualify for this award, nominated chapters must be a chapter in good standing having submitted their Annual Standards Report by July 31.

HIMSS Chapters who have won a HIMSS Chapter of the Year Award (any category: small, medium, large) in the immediate prior year are exempt from consideration for the following fiscal year’s award submission pool. 

Our goal is to create and foster a chapter awards program where all chapters feel comfortable and confident that they are being recognized for their hard work, regardless of geographic location, distance from a major metropolitan area, total number of members, or board size.  Please refrain from submitting a nomination for the chapter of the year award if your chapter has won this award in the previous year.

Each Chapter that meets the above requirements will be eligible to receive the award.


Nominations of Chapter of the Year will only be accepted via survey submittal from the link provided below. Nominations must be accepted by the deadline provided. Any board member can provide the nomination. Nominations will be reviewed separately and points awarded per individual nomination received. The highest individual submission, not the collective total of all nominations received for that chapter, will receive the award. Incomplete nominations will result in lower point values and will not be combined with any other nomination. Thorough and well-written nominations are encouraged.

Form Evaluation

The HIMSS Operations Staff liaison will review the nomination forms to verify point values and criteria for eligibility. The nominations will then be provided to the Chapter Task Force to select the winner of the small, medium and large chapter category. HIMSS staff will forward Task Force recommendation to the HIMSS Board of Directors for final review and approval.

Points will be tabulated to each nominated chapter, based on criteria and weights used in the evaluation of the nomination form. The award winners are the chapters with the highest total scores in each of the three categories of small, medium and large.


The Chapter of the Year Awards consists of:

  • Symbol of recognition
  • Two (2) complimentary tickets to the Annual Awards Gala at HIMSS Annual Conference and Exhibition. 
  • Recognition in HIMSS publications
  • One (1) chapter representative will receive the recognition of the Chapter of the Year Award at the HIMSS Annual Conference Awards Gala.


The award recipients will receive notification so that the winners may plan to attend HIMSS Annual Conference. All nominated chapters will receive notification of the status of their nomination.

2015 Winners

Large Chapter - Northern California - President – Nancy Hall

Medium Chapter - Colorado - President – Tamara Havenhill-Jacobs, MHSA, FHIMSS, CHCIO-eligible

Small Chapter - Austin - President – Doug Burkott, PMP, FHIMSS