Physician IT Leadership Award

The Physician IT Leadership Award recognizes significant leadership in the area of applying IT to the needs of physicians while serving the Society and/or the industry. The Physician IT Leadership Award can be made for a single exceptional contribution, for a sustained contribution, or for a lifetime of exceptional leadership.

Established: 2004


The call for applications is now closed. Winners will be notified by January 2016. The call for applications for next year will open mid-July 2016.

Eligibility and Required Criteria

  • Nominee must be an active HIMSS member
  • Nominee must be an MD or DO
  • Demonstrated leadership in Physician Informatics, including:
    • Developed or implemented clinical systems advancing the health status of patients/consumers
    • Uniquely applied clinical systems tools and techniques impacting Physician workflow/productivity
    • Served as Physician Informatics leader of outstanding healthcare institution or company
    • Respected and recognized as a role model by peers
  • Actively supported HIMSS mission and membership growth, including:
    • Acknowledged leader in Physician informatics/healthcare information and management systems
    • Active supporter, advocate, and recruiter for HIMSS members
    • Active HIMSS volunteer to include membership in Committees, Task Forces and Work Groups and/or actively engaged in the creation of published tools and resources for HIMSS.
  • Made outstanding contributions to the mission of HIMSS, including:
    • Supporting lifelong learning opportunities
    • Supporting and promoting HIMSS as the recognized leader in the industry

Individuals currently serving on the HIMSS Board of Directors are ineligible.

The Nomination Process

  • The nominations are submitted using the on-line form
  • include a resume or C.V.
  • All nominations are reviewed by HIMSS Physician Community Leadership Committee
  • Staff forwards the Community’s recommendation to the Board of Directors for final approval
  • Recipient is notified after the final approval by the Board
  • The official announcement of the Physician IT Leadership Award is made at the Awards & Recognition Banquet at the Annual Conference

The Physician IT Leadership Award consists of:

  • A Symbol of Recognition
  • Public announcement  in an official HIMSS publication and on Web Site
  • Invitation to the Awards Banquet at HIMSS Annual Conference

2015 Winner

Brian Yeaman, MD


Brian Yeaman, MD

For more information, contact