The Kate Granger Compassionate Care Award Presented by HIMSS North America


Deborah H. Dahl, BSE, MBA, FACHE

David Weingard

Purpose & History

HIMSS is honored to bring the Kate Granger Compassionate Care Awards to North America to recognize high-touch / high-tech care.  As IT becomes increasingly recognized as a pivotal tool to improve the quality, safety, cost-effectiveness, and access to outstanding care, HIMSS is committed to ensuring a high-touch / high-tech relationship between clinicians and patients.  This is the story of the Award, and how to get involved.

In 2011, while working as a junior doctor in a British hospital, 29-year old Kate Granger was diagnosed with a rare type of abdominal sarcoma:  desmoplastic small-round-cell tumor. The prognosis was terminal, and the course of action was palliative chemotherapy to prolong her life. She was given months, not years, to live.

As Kate embarked on her treatment, for the first time she experienced what it was like to be a patient in a busy hospital. She was shocked by the lack of compassion from the clinicians treating her. In particular, she objected to being talked about as “bed nine” and not by her name. She was astonished that doctors and nurses would start doing complex and intimate things to her, such as fitting a line for chemotherapy, without first introducing themselves.

Her response to this was to take action.  First, she started a social media campaign with #hellomynameis.  And, Kate opened the conversation about dying; she began talking about how she was planning a good death. She said she would live-tweet her death #deathbedlive.

Kate surprised everyone and lived for five years, during which she: qualified as a consultant in elderly medicine; became a Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (MBE); received the 2015 New Year Honours for services to the NHS and improving care; wrote two books about being a patient and living with terminal cancer; and, raised more than £250,000 for the Yorkshire Cancer Centre.

As momentum for #hellomynameis grew, Kate launched an annual award recognizing compassionate care in the United Kingdom’s National Health Service (NHS) and/or NHS-funded services delivered in hospitals, primary care, community or residential settings.  Awards were created for individuals, teams, and entire organizations demonstrating compassionate care.

Beginning in January, 2017, HIMSS will recognize the contributions of an individual.  HIMSS will further expand the program to recognize the contributions of a team and organization beginning in 2018 and beyond. 

Established: 2017


The call for applications will open again in July 2017. Please check back for more information.

Eligibility and Required Criteria

  • Nominees must be currently engaged in the health sector.
  • Only those applications which are fully completed and submitted in accordance with the published Award rules will be considered.
  • Nominees must agree, if they are selected for the Award that, within six months of receiving the Award, they will to provide HIMSS a minimum of three pieces of content (blog postings, interview for podcast, article, etc.) about their experiences in achieving compassionate, high-tech care which HIMSS can publish.
  • Nominees cannot be currently serving of one of HIMSS’s boards (HIMSS NA, HIMSS Analytics, PCHA, etc.)
  • Nominees cannot be currently employed by HIMSS, nor engaged in a consulting contract with any component of HIMSS.
  • Award judges are ineligible to be nominated.

The Nomination Process

Only completed applications submitted by the published deadline will be considered. 

The application will require:

  • The online application form will require the following information:
  • A completed application using the online nomination form;
  • A short description of the project explaining how the criteria above has been met. This description should be no longer than 1,000 words and accompanied by one letter of recommendation provided by any of the following: peers, colleagues, managers, patients or patient representatives.

The Kate Granger Compassionate Care Awards Presented by HIMSS North America consists of:

  • Symbol of Recognition
  • Public announcement in an official HIMSS publication
  • Invitation to the HIMSS Annual Awards Gala
  • Opportunity to serve on the Kate Granger Compassionate Care Award Selection Committee for two subsequent years
  • Providing three pieces of content such as, but not limited to, a podcast interview and/or writing one/series of blog posting(s), etc.

For more information, contact