HIMSS Davies Awards

Awarding IT. Improving Healthcare.

Nicholas E. Davies Since 1994, the HIMSS Nicholas E. Davies Award of Excellence has recognized outstanding achievement of organizations who have utilized health information technology to substantially improve patient outcomes while achieving return on investment. The Davies Awards program promotes EHR-enabled improvement in patient outcomes through sharing case studies and lessons learned on implementation strategies, workflow design, best practice adherence, and patient engagement.

Who Can Apply for an Award?

Are you one of the following organizations?

  • Independent Ambulatory Practices
  • Community Health Organizations
  • Enterprise Clinics
  • Hospital or Health Organization
  • State or Local Public Health Organizations

Have you achieved key industry milestones?

  • Stage 6 or Stage 7 on the HIMSS Analytics EMR Adoption Model (for Hospitals/Health Systems)
  • Achieved key Meaningful Use milestones
  • Achieved sustainable improvement in outcomes through the utilization of health IT

Learn about Types of Davies Awards >

What are the Benefits of Applying?

Organizational Benefits

Gain a new perspective on your organizational growth. The case study process will show you just how much you have accomplished and where there are opportunities for further growth.

Best practice guidance on how to leverage health information technology to improve quality of care, patient safety and revenue.

More powerful financial leverage for additional funding resources.

Celebrate your success with well-deserved recognition through the HIMSSMedia Group. Publications are read by over 600,000 readers, and your story will be shared with policy leaders at all levels.

Career Benefits

The possibility of fast tracking your career by touting involvement with a nationally recognized Award application.

Past Recipients Discuss the Benefits of the Davies Application Process >

2015 Davies Award of Excellence Recipients

Congratulations to the 2015 HIMSS Davies Award of Excellence Recipients

Ambulatory Awards

See All Ambulatory Award Recipients >

Enterprise Awards

Congratulations to 2014 HIMSS Enterprise Davies Award Recipients, Lakeland Healthcare, Marina Salud Hospital of Denia, Spain, and Truman Medical Centers of Kansas City, Missouri!

See All Enterprise Award Recipients>

Community Health Organization Awards

Congratulations to 2014 Davies CHO Award Recipient Community Health Centers of Florida based in Orlando, Florida!

See All Community Health Organization Award Recipients>

Read 2015 Award Case Studies!

Latest News

Novant Health is the First Organization to be Revalidated With Stage 7 Ambulatory Award

The HIMSS Analytics Stage 7 Ambulatory Award honors facilities operating in a paperless environment using best practices in implementing EHR.

HIMSS Analytics Honors Nicklaus Children’s Hospital With Stage 7 Award

The HIMSS Analytics Stage 7 Award honors hospitals operating in a paperless environment and representing best practices in implementing EHR.

Be Recognized for Excellence: The Davies Ambulatory Award of Excellence Call for Submissions

The HIMSS Davies Enterprise Award call for submissions is open from now through July 1.

More News

"If you don’t write it down, it hasn’t been done"

Who was Nicholas E. Davies?
by William McClatche