HIMSS Chapter Leader of the Year Award

HIMSS 2019 (FY18) Recipient

Tommy Lewis
Tommy Lewis, Past President, Tennessee Chapter of HIMSS
HIMSS is spotlighting Tommy's contributions through the awards blog. 


The Chapter Leader of the Year Award recognizes an individual who demonstrates significant leadership, extraordinary contributions to HIMSS Chapters, the society, and a commitment to the health information and technology industry.

Eligibility Requirements and Program Overview

To qualify for this award, nominated individuals must have been a chapter leader, having served on the Chapter Board for the year in which the award is nominated for. The chapter leader must have been identified on the Chapter Annual Standards Report or otherwise indicated to HIMSS as being on the Chapter Board of Directors.

The individual must be an active HIMSS Individual Member, in good standing for at least 3 years.

HIMSS Chapter Leaders who have received this award in the previous 5 years are exempt from eligibility.

Our goal is to create and foster a chapter awards program where all chapter leaders feel comfortable and confident that they are being recognized for their hard work, We ask that you please refrain from submitting a nomination for the chapter leader of the year award if the individual has won in the previous 5 years.

Each nominee that meets the above requirements will be eligible to receive the award.


Nominations of Chapter Leader of the Year will only be accepted via survey submittal from the link provided below. Nominations must be accepted by the deadline provided. Individuals can nominate themselves or another deserving candidate. Nominations will be reviewed separately and points awarded per nomination received. The highest individual submission for a nominee, not the collective total of all nominations received for one nominee, will receive the award. Incomplete nominations will result in lower point values and will not be combined with any other nomination. Thorough and well-written nominations are encouraged.

Form Evaluation

The HIMSS Operations Staff liaison will review the nomination forms to verify criteria for eligibility. The nominations will then be provided to the Chapter Task Force to select the indicate point values and select a winner. Staff will forward the Task Force recommendation to the HIMSS Board of Directors for final review and approval.

Points will be tabulated to each nominated submission, based on criteria and weights used in the evaluation of the nomination form. The award winner is the leader with the highest total score on one single nomination. The total score is not cumulative if multiple nominations are received per leader.

Award Presentation

The Chapter Leader of the Year Award consists of:

  • Symbol of recognition
  • Announcement in HIMSS publications

Past Recipients

2018 Chad Cothern, BSN, RN, CPHIMS, FHIMSS

2017 Connie McGee

2016 Susan Newbold, PhD, RN-BC, FHIMSS

2015 Kevin Conway, LFHIMSS

2014 Anthony Ferrante

2014 Brian Moyer, CPHIMS, FHIMSS

2013 Denise Hines, PMP, FHIMSS






For more information, contact awards@himss.org.