HIMSS 2019 (FY18) Recipient

Tommy Lewis
Tommy Lewis, Past President, Tennessee Chapter of HIMSS
HIMSS is spotlighting Tommy's contributions through the awards blog


The Chapter Leader of the Year Award recognizes an individual who demonstrates significant leadership, extraordinary contributions to HIMSS Chapters, the society, and a commitment to driving thought leadership within the health information and technology industry.

Eligibility Requirements and Program Overview

To qualify for this award, nominated individuals must have been a chapter leader, having served on the Chapter Board for the year of the award nomination. The chapter leader must have been identified on the Chapter Annual Standards Report or otherwise indicated to HIMSS as being on the Chapter Board of Directors.

The individual must be an active HIMSS Individual Member, in good standing for at least three (3) years.

The goal of this award is to highlight exemplary chapter leaders and recognize their hard work driving thought leadership within the health and technology industries in their geographical area. Individuals who have won this award in the previous five (5) years will not be eligible for nomination.

Each nominee that meets the above requirements will be eligible to receive the award.


The Chapter Awards program is managed by the HIMSS Chapter Relations team and the Chapters Task Force. Please email chapters@himss.org with any questions.

Award Presentation

The Chapter Leader of the Year Award consists of:

  • Symbol of recognition
  • Announcement in HIMSS publications

Past Recipients

2018 Chad Cothern, BSN, RN, CPHIMS, FHIMSS

2017 Connie McGee

2016 Susan Newbold, PhD, RN-BC, FHIMSS

2015 Kevin Conway, LFHIMSS

2014 Anthony Ferrante

2014 Brian Moyer, CPHIMS, FHIMSS

2013 Denise Hines, PMP, FHIMSS




For more information, contact chapters@himss.org.