Kate Granger Compassionate Care Award

CMS Releases New Plan for Driving Transformative Value-Based Care

Purpose and History

HIMSS is honored to bring the Kate Granger Compassionate Care Awards to North America to recognize high-touch/high-tech care. As information and technology becomes increasingly recognized as a pivotal tool to improve the quality, safety, cost-effectiveness and access to outstanding care, HIMSS is committed to ensuring a high-touch/high-tech relationship between clinicians and patients.

In 2011, while working as a junior doctor in a British hospital, 29-year-old Kate Granger was diagnosed with a rare type of abdominal sarcoma: desmoplastic small-round-cell tumor. The prognosis was terminal, and the course of action was palliative chemotherapy to prolong her life. She was given months, not years, to live.

As Kate embarked on her treatment, for the first time she experienced what it was like to be a patient in a busy hospital. She was shocked by the lack of compassion from the clinicians treating her. In particular, she objected to being talked about as “bed nine” and not by her name. She was astonished that doctors and nurses would start doing complex and intimate things to her, such as fitting a line for chemotherapy, without first introducing themselves.

Her response to this was to take action. First, she started a social media campaign with #hellomynameis. And Kate opened the conversation about dying; she began talking about how she was planning a good death. She said she would live-tweet her death #deathbedlive.

Kate surprised everyone and lived for five years, during which she qualified as a consultant in elderly medicine; became a Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (MBE); received the 2015 New Year Honours for services to the NHS and improving care; wrote two books about being a patient and living with terminal cancer; and raised more than £250,000 for the Yorkshire Cancer Centre.

As momentum for #hellomynameis grew, Kate launched an annual award recognizing compassionate care in the United Kingdom’s National Health Service (NHS) and/or NHS-funded services delivered in hospitals, primary care, community or residential settings. Awards were created for individuals, teams, and entire organizations demonstrating compassionate care.

The Kate Granger Compassionate Care Award consists of: 

  • Symbol of recognition
  • Public announcement in an official HIMSS publication and on relevant website(s)
  • Opportunity to serve on the Awards Selection Committee for two subsequent years
  • Providing three pieces of content such as, but not limited to, a podcast interview and/or writing one/series of article posting(s), etc.

Eligibility and Criteria

To be considered for the award, nominees must demonstrate the following:

  • An ambitious and innovative way of delivering care that embraces a high-touch-high-tech approach
  • High-quality management and leadership attributes
  • An approach that can be measured, replicable and with long-term impact
  • How the approach has made a difference to patient care
  • How the approach to patient care uses technology
  • How high-touch/high-tech care can also increase care quality, cost-effectiveness, patient safety and/or access to care
  • Nominees must be currently engaged in the health sector
  • Is respected and recognized as a role model to peers in the industry
  • Is not currently serving on one of HIMSS boards (HIMSS, HIMSS Analytics, PCHA, etc.)
  • Cannot be currently employed by HIMSS, nor engaged in a consulting contract with any component of HIMSS
  • Award judges are ineligible to be nominated
  • Nominees must agree, if they are selected for the award that, within six months of receiving the award, they will to provide HIMSS a minimum of three pieces of content (article postings, interview for podcast, etc.) about their experiences in achieving compassionate, high-tech care which HIMSS can publish

Previous award recipients who have won this award in the past five years are exempt from consideration. 

Nomination Process 

Any person meeting the eligibility and required criteria may be nominated. Candidates may also nominate themselves for the award. Only completed applications submitted by the published deadline will be considered.
The online application form will require the following information:

  • A completed application using the online nomination form
  • A brief biographical sketch that demonstrates why the nominee should be considered for the award (1,000 words or less)
  • Resume/curriculum vitae
  • One letter of recommendation provided by any of the following: peers, colleagues, managers, patients or patient representatives

HIMSS 2020 Recipient

Cara Martino
Cara Martino

Questions? Contact awards@himss.org.