Public Voting Opens for 2023 HIMSS Changemaker in Health Awards

A group of cheerful medical coworkers sit in a circle for a staff meeting. They laugh together as they talk.

HIMSS is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2023 HIMSS Changemaker in Health Awards, a reimagined awards program that recognizes the power of every nominee to create change.

The public is invited to help select the 2023 award recipients in several categories. Voting is open until 5 p.m. CT on Nov. 22, 2022.

Award recipients will be selected by the open ballot and with input from the HIMSS Board of Directors. Recipients will be announced in January 2023.

2023 award categories:

Congratulations to the 2023 HIMSS Changemaker in Health Award finalists, nominated and selected by HIMSS volunteer groups and subject matter experts.

Please direct questions about the voting process to awards@himss.org. Learn more about opportunities with HIMSS.

Chapter Advocate Award Finalists

A. Lee Lavergne, CPHIMS, FHIMSS

Vice President, Advocacy


Dallas, TX | United States


Brian Levy, MD

Lead Physician Executive


Denver, CO | United States


Elizabeth A. Regan, PhD

Chair, Integrated Information Technology / Professor, Health Informatics

University of South Carolina

Columbia, SC | United States


Chapter Leader Award Finalists

Deepak Chaudhry, MSIS, CPHIMS, FHIMSS

Digital Health Practice Leader

FTI Consulting

Houston, TX | United States


Brittany Royal-Killam

Senior Healthcare Account Executive


McKinney, TX | United States



Account Executive


Dowagiac, MI | United States



IS Business Analyst

ECU Health

Greenville, NC | United States

Global Patient Innovator Award Finalists

Lea Raak

Patient Advocate

Blickwinkel Diabetes; Insulea.de

Kiel | Germany


Roi Shternin, B.Ed, AEMT, MA (can)

Founder & Patient-in-Residence

The Patient School/ Chronically/ Health tech without borders/ Dysautonomia Israel/ Labriut Israel/ Project hearts

Vienna | Austria


Health Equity Award Finalists

Fran Ayalasomayajula, MPH, MSMIS, PMP, HMCT, CD (DONA)


REACH Healthcare

San Diego, CA | United States


Silas Buchanan


Institute for eHealth Equity

Cleveland, OH | United States


Grady Burrows, MBA

Executive Director

HIT in the CLE

Cleveland, OH | United States


John Casillas, CT (ASCP)


GlobalRise | A World of Healthy Kids!

Grecia | Costa Rica


Michael 'Chris' Gibbons, MD, MPH

Founder & CEO

The Greystone Group

Baltimore, MD | United States


Michael Petersen, MD

Managing Director | Clinical Transformation

PwC (Price Waterhouse Coopers)

Austin, TX | United States


Lygeia Ricciardi, EdM

Founder & CEO

AdaRose, Inc.

Washington, DC | United States


Mark Wien, BBA

Founder & CEO


Prague | Czech Republic


HIMSS-AMDIS Physician Executive Award Finalists

Adam Dicker, MD, PhD, FASTRO, FASCO

Senior VP, Chair & Professor of Radiology  Oncology

Thomas Jefferson University-Jefferson Health

Philadelphia, PA | United States


Susan Kressly, MD, FAAP

Pediatric Health IT Subject Matter Expert, Founding Partner

Kressley Pediatrics

Sanibel Island, FL | United States



CMIO, UCHealth; Professor University of Colorado School of Medicine


Aurora, CO | United States


Margaret Lozovatsky, MD, FAMIA

SVP | Chief Health Informatics Officer

Novant Health

Charlotte, NC | United States


Harm Scherpbier, MD, MS, FAMIA, FHIMSS


HealthShare Exchange

Fort Washington, PA | United States


HIMSS-ANI Nursing Informatics Award Finalists

Olga Kagan, PhD, RN, FHIMSS, NYAM Fellow

Founder & Principal OKHCC; Adjunct Professor and Consortial Faculty

OKHCC; Molloy University; City University of NY School of Professional Studies

New York, NY | United States



CNIO / VP of IT Operations

Health First, Inc.

Merritt Island, FL | United States


Anna Schoenbaum, DNP, MS, RN-BC, FHIMSS

Vice President of Information Services Applications

Penn Medicine

Philadelphia, PA | United States


Victoria L. Tiase, PhD, RN-BC, FAMIA, FAAN, FNAP

Director of Digital Health, Strategic Development

University of Utah Health

Salt Lake City, UT | United States


Kathryn Owen, MS, RN-BC

Lead Product Manager


Chicago, IL | United States


Policy Influencer Award Finalists

Zahid Butt, MD, FACG



Columbia, MD | United States


Daniel Jernigan, MD, MPH; Board Certified Internal Medicine

Deputy Director for Public Health Science and Surveillance

U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Atlanta, GA | United States


Hans Henri P. Kluge, MD

Regional Director

World Health Organization

Copenhagen | Denmark


Micky Tripathi, PhD

National Coordinator for Health IT

Office of the National Coordinator for Health IT

Washington, DC | United States


Senior Executive Award Finalists

Yanwar Hadiyanto, MD, Masters of Hospital Administration


Pondok Indah Hospital Group

Jakarta | Indonesia


Joseph 'Joe' Longo, MBA, CDH-E, CHCIO

Senior Vice President / Chief Information Officer

Parkland Health

Dallas, TX | United States


Ray Lowe, MS

Senior Vice President / Chief Information Officer

AltaMed Health Services

Commerce, CA | United States


Ed Marx, MS



Dallas-Fort Worth, TX | United States


Kathleen McGrow,  DNP, MS, RN, PMP

Chief Nursing Information Officer


Baltimore, MD | United States


Brett Moran, MD

SVP, Associate Chief Medical Officer, CMIO

Parkland Health

Dallas, TX | United States



Chief Clinical Information Officer; Professor, Family Medicine,

Biomedical Informatics, Nursing & Public Health

The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center

Columbus, OH | United States


Srinivasan Suresh, MD, MBA, FAAP

Vice-President, CIO & CMIO

UPMC Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh

Pittsburgh, PA | United States


Catherine Turner, BSN, MBA, RN-BC

Associate Vice President


Boston, MA | United States


Sara Vaezy, MPH, MHA

Chief Strategy and Digital Officer


Seattle, WA | United States


Women in Health IT Award Finalists

Liz Ashall-Payne
Founding CEO


Daresbury, Cheshire | Great Britain


Janis Curtis, MSPH, MA

Associate Director, Duke CDRN Program

Duke Health – School of Medicine, CTSI

Durham, NC | United States


Anca Del Rio, BBSc., MSPH, DrPH Candidate

Health Tech Community Lead

Basel Area Business & Innovation (DayOne - Healthcare Innovation)

Basel | Switzerland


Patricia Dykes, PhD, MA, RN, FAAN, FACMI

Research Program Director, Center for Patient Safety,

Research and Practice/Associate Professor of Medicine

Brigham and Women’s Hospital/Harvard Medical School

Boston, MA | United States


Gracecielia Piscesianita, MD

Director of Indonesia Digital Medic Association (Kitras)

Indonesia Digital Medic Association (Kitras)

Jakarta | Indonesia


Joy Rios, MBA

CEO, Co-founder, Host

HIT Like a Girl Podcast

Baja CA | Mexico


Sylvia Thun

Director, Core Facilty Digitale Medicine and Interoperability

BIH at Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Berlin | Germany


Gabriela Mustata Wilson, PhD, MSc, FHIMSS, FHIASI, SNAI

Professor, co-Director, Multi-Interprofessional Center for Health Informatics,

Director of Health and Public Health Informatics

University of Texas at Arlington (UTA)

Arlington, TX | United States


2023 Changemaker Awards

Congratulations to the 2023 HIMSS Changemaker in Health Award finalists. Public voting for 2023 recipients is open through Nov. 22, 2022.

Cast your vote

Published on