HIMSS Davies Award of Excellence

The HIMSS Davies Award of Excellence showcases healthcare organizations that demonstrate globally innovative, thoughtful applications of information and technology to drive and redefine evidence-based best practices so that others can learn, adapt and improve population health and patient outcomes.

Davies Award Case Studies

Discover how healthcare organizations have achieved the HIMSS Davies Award and learn why their contributions are significant to health information and technology. Explore Davies recipient case studies and other case studies in our Resource Center.

Explore case studies


Applying for the Davies Award

Eligible Organizations


Independent ambulatory practices

Community health organizations

Enterprise clinics

State or local public health organizations

*Includes integrated care delivery networks, academic medical centers


Required Industry Milestones

  • Achieved sustainable improvement to clinical care outcomes and population health through the utilization of information and technology-enabled workflows, care standardization and analytics to drive quality improvement 
  • Hospital and health system applicants: Accomplished Stage 7 validation on one of the HIMSS Maturity Models
  • Untethered ambulatory and community health center applicants: Demonstrated improved quality and care outcomes through trended data and exceeding defined benchmarks over a minimum of 18 months
  • Public health applicants: Demonstration of public health benefits enabled through the use of information and technology for your jurisdiction


If your organization meets these eligibility and qualification requirements, email us to request more information. The 2023 Davies submission cycle is open starting September 15, 2022 and closes January 15, 2023. Finalists will be selected to receive a virtual site visit to validate the case studies. To receive the Davies Award case study template and learn more about how to submit, please email us.

Email Us


Select Views Reference

2023 Davies Award Recipients

Population and Public Health
Case Studies
Digital Health
Case Studies